Nostalgia

In high school, I had 3 friend’s families I spent a lot of time with:
Amy Lina
Amy Williams
Karen Wood & Katrinia Emerick

In some ways, I might have allowed myself to be closer to their moms than my own… because I was less worried about disappointing them. They only know the current version of me, unlike my mom who knew the much better version of me that existed before I turned 14.

I think I was the friend that my other “moms” worried about. I was loud, rowdy and outspoken. I liked boys who looked like they might spend some time in jail someday.

I remember the one time I decided to run away from home – I went the mile to Amy Williams’ house… my dad followed me in his car, saw where I stopped, then called and let her mom know I was grounded. She let me know I was welcome to stay… but I would be grounded there, too.

Today, I ran into Amy Lina’s mom in Walmart.
I realized that I missed her, and my other borrowed moms.
I realized that I probably loved their daughters because they had great moms, and I am old enough (and wise enough 😉 to appreciate the neat ladies they are now.
It made me want to have a little reunion.

Fortunately for me, I got to have one with Karen’s family about 2 months ago. It just felt like home.
Hopefully, I will be able to schedule one with the Lina’s and the William’s soon!

By the way, thanks for keeping an eye on me for my mom! I hope I find some moms like you to do the same for my kidse

2 responses to “Nostalgia

  1. Hey there – stumbled on your blog via a random post on your FB. I felt the same towards Katrinia’s mom actually…. Looking forward to reading more (going backwards 🙂 )

  2. P.S. This is Kim Culpepper Artall

Leave a Reply

