Simplifying laundry

When I was growing up, our formal living room couch was overrun by laundry – for company to come over, we had to find another place (usually a bed) to stash the clean clothes.
As I started managing my own house, I encountered the same situation – laundry overrunning some area of our apartment or house.

By the time I was managing the laundry of 5 people, I had to come up with a solution.

Here’s my laundry system:
Laundry system

The system works to organize space and time.

  • Space: The baskets above the washer/dryer provide a location to store laundry that does not need to be used for anything else – unlike the couch or the bed.
  • Time: This is the KEY! If laundry wasn’t such a time-commitment, then it wouldn’t pile up anyway. Here’s how my system manages itself:
    1. Each morning, I put on a load of laundry in the washer, and unload a load from dryer…
      • Unloading dryer involves sorting clothes into the baskets – a shirt & pants basket for each of the boys, a hangup & fold basket for myself & Arabella, Joel’s all thrown up in top 2 baskets, socks in a crate, towels in a basket on floor… probably takes 1 min total.
      • Loading washer takes less than 1 min.
    2. Each afternoon, I put away 1 category of clothing (towels, Arabella, Holden, Darin, Joel or Heather)… 5-10 min. (or this is the part I did before I had help at home from Jessica

*The BEST PART is that if you never make time to do the afternoon stuff, everyone’s clothes are “put away” in their pre-sorted baskets… easy to find, easy to wear.*

Note: The detergent in this picture is the best price/load around – it from Sears, comes in different “flavors” and is only $13 for 125 loads!

Leave a Reply

