Ode to Joel

Today is a day to celebrate many things:
Love
Perseverance
Obsession
But mainly Joel

When we married in Feb 2001, he had known the grace of our Savior 7 months. Yet he was already reflecting Him beautifully.

In the 9 yrs of our marriage, he has been the steady to my extreme swaying.

He has been the slow and hopeful to my erratic, driving goals.

Joel came into the body of Christ with a clear longing to be mentored and shaped. When he found this difficult to locate, he fought for it, then turned around and became what he had needed for others.

I admire that so much.

I will follow Him wherever God leads him.

As my wedding band states, “Wherever you go, I will go. Your people will be my people. Your God [is] my God.”

Here are vows Joel wrote for our wedding. If you have heard him preach, it should be no surprise they are saturated by scripture:

Following in the example of Christ
I come into this union to serve, not to be served. (Matt 20-28)
And wherever you go, I will go
Where you stay, I will stay
Your people will be my people
And your God will be my Gos
Where you die, I will die,
And may the Lord deal with me be it ever so severly if anything but death separates us. (Ruth 1:16-17)

You have stolen my heart, my bride
With one glance of your eyes,
You have stolen my heart. (Song of Solomon 4:9)

I do.

2 responses to “Ode to Joel

  1. What awesome vows! Happy Anniversary!

  2. I just met Joel at the DG Conference last week. I could already tell he was a great guy – but a true test for any man is, “Does his wife respect him?”

    Pretty clear from this post that he’s solid gold.

    Congrats on 9 years!

Leave a Reply

