Want to count to 1,000 gifts with me?

For awhile, I have desires to irradicate a critical & complaining attitude in my heart. I gave up criticizing (out loud) for lent 2 years ago, and resolved something similar this New Year.

But without a plan to change, I haven’t seen any.
On my anniversary weekend, I started reading One Thousand Gifts. Ann sees replacing criticizing with thanks as a task that takes practice.

So she started a constant, ongoing list of gifts from God she has already received.

This practice is changing me.
Looking back over my life, or today, I can see 100’s of times my life was blessing by a kind and gracious Creator.

It has amazed me to realize how many times God specifically allowed another day, when I was working against safety & life.

One specific time I took for granted was my teenage years. In January, I watched a documentary on human trafficking here in the USA. I realized I should have been a victim. Throughout high school, I snuck out of my house at night, I rode in cars with strangers, and even left a resort in Mexico with a bunch of teenagers.

I have taken for granted that I came home alive.
I have taken for granted that I was not rape or kidnapped.
I have taken for granted the tears & prayers of my mom & dad.

I now celebrate the miracles of being alive!
Thank you Lord!

One response to “Want to count to 1,000 gifts with me?

  1. Pingback: Joyful stressless busy-ness | Persevering to the end, in spite of myself

Leave a Reply

