Ode to Darin’s Tummy Mama

My son, Darin, was born to me by adoption. (read about that here & here)

20120508-221813.jpg

His birth mother was Lonnie Sue Talbot.
She loved him so much.
I know this because we have an open adoption & she spent lots of time with us. Darin was her pride & joy.

20120508-221919.jpg

Darin was Lonnie’s first & only child. She was a single, unemployed mom, and she knew she didn’t have the resources to care for a child with Down syndrome.

20120508-215526.jpg

But placing Darin for adoption was not easy for her. Darin was a premie & had to spend 25 days in the NICU. Lonnie continued to visit him & form a strong attachment to him during those 25 days, even though that only made their separation harder.

20120508-215321.jpg

With our agency, there is a 6-month break between placement & a visit. During those first 6 months, Darin was in the hospital about 2 months, and Lonnie kept track of him by his baby-website. She worried about him & ached for him.

20120508-215236.jpg

After we were reunited & began to develop our family-relationship, Lonnie was always willing to put herself out there, attending gatherings of our families & friends, to share in the joy that is Darin.

20120508-215150.jpg

Over the past 6 years, Lonnie became our family too. We experienced the melding of families not by blood, but by love.

But last night, Lonnie died.

I miss her.

10 responses to “Ode to Darin’s Tummy Mama

  1. Oh, what a heartbreak. I am so sorry for your loss. What a blessing you have such wonderful and positive memories to keep her love alive. May you all take the necessary time to grieve well.

  2. Ok, goosebumps! I am so sorry for your loss! But how incredible to read of your history together. It brings joy to my heart to read about stories like yours.

  3. Thank you. I’m so thankful for every moment in our story. It was like a fairy tale for me.

    Now, this Sunday is Mother’s Day. And we are missing a mother. Today is gonna be really hard.

  4. I am so sorry Heather, what a beautiful story you have with her. I will be praying for you all.

  5. Latonya Still

    I’m so sorry that you have to exprience this loss but I’m greatful for the time you all had together. I love you, lady. Please let us know if you need or want anything.

  6. I am so sorry for your loss, what a treasure for Darin to have those wonderful photos of the two of them.

  7. Heather you and Joel were angels sent to Lonnie. You brought her such joy and content in knowing and seeing how much you both care for Darin. She has given you such a beautiful gift and her spirit will live forever in Darin and still be very much a part of your lives even though she is no longer with us in flesh. Today there was a peace swept over me in seeing you and seeing that beautiful, beautiful little boy. May God always be with you and your entire family.

  8. Sharon Woodworth

    Heather, You and your family are such a wonderful strong and loving family. We are so grateful you came into Lonnie and Darins life . Words cannot express all you have done for lonnie. She Really truely loved Darin and your family. She always talked about. We miss her and love her . As she jokingly called me (wicked step mom LOL) I loved to talk to her. I know she is looking down on us each an everyday.
    Your story was wonderful If there is everyanything you need dont hesitate to ask .
    Love Always Doug and Sharon Woodworth( Lonnie’s parents ) HUGS

  9. Pingback: Our adoption stories | Persevering to the end, in spite of myself

Leave a Reply

