This is for Rowan Twosisters, my friend

Over the past several weeks, I have read at least 1,000 FB posts & blogs on the “Chick-fil-a” scandal.

I have kept silent.
I have kept silent as I do on most political or controversial issues, because I do not think Facebook is the appropriate venue for these.

I have kept silent because I didn’t think silence could hurt anyone.

But then it did.
Tonight at 9:50p, I read this post on Facebook from my friend Rowan TwoSisters:

That is why we’re so angry. This is personal for us. There are times in your life when you have the opportunity to stand up for your friends. When you let that opportunity pass, your friends notice. It doesn’t mean we can’t be friends, but it diminishes you, and it diminishes the friendship. That’s how it is, no matter what the issue or what the venue. (Including this link)

This stabbed me in the heart, just like The Kite Runner. For Rowan, my silence was the same as abandoning her during an attack. I can’t do that – I love Rowan.

I have know Rowan for a long time. I have always know that Rowan is a lesbian, an organic food junkie, a birth coach, a hula hooper, a wife, and a wiccan.

I have always HOPED that Rowan knows that beyond my other definitions – mother, organic food junkie, lactivist (barely), human trafficking abolitionist –  I am a follower of Jesus Christ, a Christian.

Only today, I suddenly realized that if she does know this, she might assume that I agree with the big “Chick-fil-a support rally” because some people misused my Savior’s name when they paid a lot for their super-fattening lunch.

So here I break my silence & take my stand.

The recent “us” against “them” controversy surrounding Chick-fil-a is the most non-Jesus like thing I have ever witnessed as part of the Church. There is no them to separate from – we, the Church, are a bunch of people making life choices that are controversial too.

  • We have sex before we get married.
  • We get divorced and remarried.
  • We are stingy with “our” resources.
  • We forget the poor and orphans.
  • We vote Republican and try to prevent the government from taking can of the poor and orphans we have neglected.
  • We avoid the people who come into our churches looking different from us.

As I writing this, my husband showed me something to remind me of a story in the Bible on this.

John 8: Then the scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman caught in adultery,making her stand in the center. “Teacher,” they said to Him, “this woman was caught in the act of committing adultery. In the law Moses commanded us to stone such women. So what do You say?” They asked this to trap Him, in order that they might have evidence to accuse HiJesus stooped down and started writing on the ground with His finger.

When they persisted in questioning Him, He stood up and said to them, “The one without sin among you should be the first to throw a stone at her.”

Then He stooped down again and continued writing on the ground. When they heard this, they left one by one, starting with the older men. Only He was left, with the woman in the center. 10 When Jesus stood up, He said to her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”

I stand in unity with my friend Rowan. I have made choices that the Bible condemns. I did not turn from these choices because a big group of rule-followers condemned me. Neither will she.

Jesus drew me with His love.

I hope Rowan can see that I love her. I hope she can see Jesus living in me.

Rowan, I am so sorry for 8/1/2012.

5 responses to “This is for Rowan Twosisters, my friend

  1. Beautifully written. Thank you, Heather.

  2. Just like Robbie Seay sings, Love Wins. I feel your love, I’ve never felt judged or hassled by you, and instead felt a deep mutual respect, like we both have super huge personal faith. I know that our wells draw from different spiritual practices, and superficially we appear polar opposites, but my heart feels yours, and we are one.

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxooxox to the max. Next time I see you I’m gonna give you a kiss, in a non creepy lesbo way.

    Cause I love you.
    And cause I feel the true Christ spirit flowing from you.
    Rowan

    • Thank you! I was scared that my wording wasn’t perfect & I might hurt you. I’m so thankful you understand me.
      Hope to cross paths again soon!

  3. Heather, we have never met, but thank you for standing up. I have known and been freinds with Rowan for over twenty years. She stood as my best man when I was married, in a Christian church. I adore her and admire the way she touches so many peoples lives. Rowan is a genuinely good and kind human being and there are millions more just like her, all the victims of blind hate and bigotry. Thank you for illustrating that there are good lessons to be found in Christianity, and I will add one of my own, Mathew 25:40 ““The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’
    Sincerely, Ozymandias Adams, Esquire

  4. As a very liberal Christian this has also stabbed my heart. I have kept silent as well for the same reasons you did but with the addition of fear. Fear of being misunderstood by my LBGT friends, fear of alienating my conservative christian family, friends…pretty much fear of inviting a sh*tstorm I am not prepared to handle. I am fearful of finding the right words to say but after reading this I have hope that it will be okay.

    Thank you both for demonstrating love and understanding.

Leave a Reply

