Relief in a realization

The special needs community’s perspective toward education is pretty unique. There is an ENORMOUS amount of pressure to be a legal guru in order to convince the local public school system to educate your child as well as possible. Many time, the same families who send all their typical children to private school invest tons of energy into mastering the public school.

Yesterday, I attended a conference where many of the breakout sessions focused on convincing your school to allow your child with a disability to be “included” in general public education.

I felt the familiar self-doubt creeping in:

Why am I not trying harder to win this fight to have Arabella & Darin get a free, appropriate public education? Why do I feel so much more comfortable with my children in private (even though non-inclusive) schools?

And then I felt relief, as I have so often recently, as I remembered something from Carole Joy Seid‘s seminar. I’m not sure how to repeat her whole thought, but basically it was that historically, public school was not the preferred choice – it was for those who had no other choice. Those with choices had governesses or mom’s as their one-on-one teacher.

I realize why I don’t wanna train & join this fight: I don’t believe MY children should be educated by the government.

And it’s a relief for me to realized this & quit feeling like a wimp.

I hope this doesn’t come off as judgement on anyone. This relates to my parenting of my children.

I am in the process of bringing all my actions into alignment with my values. I’m sure you are in the same process.

Leave a Reply

