Simplifying: living with less

This weekend, I clicked on a link about a family of 6 moving into a renovated school bus. Reading around Shalom Mama’s blog, I was reminded how much I hate to accumulate stuff, which leads to remembering how much I hate cleaning up all this stuff.

Lately, the worst spot in my house has been Holden’s room:

20131202-142508.jpg
20131202-142522.jpg
As soon as we clean it, he dumps out a draw to find something or just to get dressed.

As I was link-hopping around Shalom Mama, I saw this post on Project 333, a way to keep clothes from dominating your world.

So today, I decided to try to bring Holden’s wardrobe under control.

Here’s what I started with: (Note: Most of Holden’s clothes are amazing hand-me-downs from 2 Houston friends)

  • 19 T-shirts
  • 7 Short-sleeve button up
  • 14 Short-sleeve polos
  • 18 Long-sleeve cotton shirt
  • 7 Long-sleeve button-up shirts
  • 7 Flannel shirts
  • 5 Pullover sweatshirt
  • 1 Pullover windbreaker
  • 3 Hoodie
  • 2 Leather jackets
  • 5 Cargo pants
  • 3 Jeans
  • 15 Shorts
  • Soccer pants
  • 3 Soccer shirts
  • 1 Soccer shorts
  • 2 Tank tops
  • 14 Sleep pants/long johns
  • 16 Boxers
  • 3 Sleep shirts/long john top
  • 3 Swim suits
  • 3 Swim shirts
  • 1 Robe
  • 1 Footed pjs
  • 6 Adult T-shirts for sleeping

158 items! Yikes!

I wasn’t sure if I could pare him down to 33 items, so I decided limiting each category to 7 items was my first step.

But I ended up with a couple to spare!

  • 7 T-shirts
  • 7 long sleeve cotton shirt
  • 2 long sleeve button up shirts
  • 3 flannel shirts
  • 1 pullover sweatshirt
  • 1 pullover windbreaker
  • 1 hoodie
  • 1 leather jacket
  • 5 cargo pants
  • 3 jeans

31 normal wear items…
Project 33 doesn’t include under-items, workout, or sleepwear…

  • 16 boxers
  • 2 tank tops
  • 2 sleep shirts/long john top
  • 7 sleep pants/long johns

I’m pretty excited to see if this helps keep his room in order!

20131202-183601.jpg
20131202-183607.jpg
20131202-183614.jpg

2 responses to “Simplifying: living with less

  1. Pingback: Simplifying: not being a hypocrite | Persevering to the end, in spite of myself

  2. Thanks for linking to my site! I’m excited to see if it helps! ~ nina (shalommama.com)

Leave a Reply

