Coming back to Texas, identity, and hurt

I’ve been keeping quiet over the past few weeks. I’m not a big fan of public whining… and whining has been most of what I’ve been feeling.

While I was wrapping up life in Maine, deciding to move back to Texas, I still felt a strong sense of understanding. We went to Maine in response to a call from God, and that call felt stronger than the risk of pain involved. At the end of this year, I felt a peace in the storm of what transpired at New Life Community Church.

But returning to Houston without a specific calling has been an emotional valley. I have daily struggled with God over what my purpose is.

But I’m beginning to think this is good healthy questioning…
Because I need my identity to be secure in Him, even when everything else is chaotic.

I remember hearing Heather Mercer at World Mandate declaring if the Gospel you believe & preach doesn’t provide salvation for the imprisoned, rejected Afgani wife in prison, then it’s not the Gospel.

For me, I am challenged to believe that the Gospel of my Lord is true, even as we are homeless, jobless, and not living in Vacationland.

2 responses to “Coming back to Texas, identity, and hurt

  1. Hang in there, Heather, we are praying for you. Even if you can’t name it, you are fulfilling your purpose no matter where you are! Love you!!

  2. Amen. Love you.

Leave a Reply

