Walking away

I never knew walking away from people was an option. Until counseling introduced boundaries to me, my standard operating procedure was to answer a question if it was asked, return to a setting if it was the tradition, and assume obligation were permanent,

This year has involved walking away from hurtful relationships. And settings that bring distress.

My stress responses were always “fight” or “fawn“. “Flight” is an amazing addition to my options.

This has come on the heals of my home life with Leah being so collaborative and healthy and cutting down my mental load of endless work by ending my full time case management job. I can now see what impact dysfunction has on my brain, how it puts a dark filter over a day/week/month.

Thankful for a home and a time in history when I have the autonomy and freedom to protect my joy.

One response to “Walking away

  1. Ah yes, it took me many years to learn to walk away, shut the door without feeling like I had to slam it…to just no longer be in an active relationship with that person/ people. It’s a huge part of recovery. And I think we’re all recovering from something.

    And I, too, choose to not be in certain situations.

    It is freeing to finally be able to say, “I don’t want that anymore.”

    I am glad you are free. ❤️

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.