My mother

At this moment in life, I’m right smack in the middle of motherhood and daughterhood. I see as never before that motherhood is both being the goddess and the slave for your children.

I realized now how much I expected my mom to be the one to hold the ladder over any wall, and also the one I would build a path around if she would not!

She made this all possible. When she homeschooled me in 2nd, 4th, 5th, & 8th, she said, “We will create the space that fits you.” When she carried a car loan with me in the middle of college, she put her needs aside to empower me. And when I got sick from college and school, she carried the weight of that decisions so I could continue my school. I know she was terrified when I want to India. But I was not. I had never go without what I needed.

When I started working in Redeemed Ministries in human trafficking abolision and recovery, I realized the faith and hope she carried. She turned to God on my behalf as I made choices that could endanger my life. I know I reap not what I sowed, but what she sowed in prayer.

It’s a heavy weight to be a mother. To love someone more than yourself.

One response to “My mother

  1. Heather,
    Your mom is one of the most remarkable and Christ-like women I know. While I have always felt so blessed to be able to call her my, “sister-in-law”, it has been an even greater honor to call her my friend. Watching you grow up through the years, I know she constantly prayed for you and your brothers. Her faith and trust in God to protect you all when she couldn’t physically never wavered. To me, your mom is true example of Proverbs 31. You are blessed beyond measure. I have enjoyed the photos you have shared recently of the adventures with you, Arabella and the boys. You are doing a wonderful job with motherhood. It is beautiful seeing it move from generation to generation.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.